About me - Rachael Matthews

Hi, I’m Rachael

I am a wife, a mother, a sister, a lawyer, a translator, and a grieving daughter. I have dual Australian-Belgian citizenship and live in Germany with my bilingual 3-year-old and my German husband. Don’t worry, he is bilingual too.

Life is busy enough when you are a self-employed, work-from-home Mum. Time is always a premium.

I like simple and delicious recipes and craft projects which are not too time-consuming but make an impact. I admire the unique and unusual in places I visit and collect tips to make travelling and everyday life easier. When I am faced with a question and I don’t know the answer to it, I do my research. All of this, I share on Tea with Mum.

This blog reflects my discussions with my Mum over a cup of tea – even if she is no longer able to answer directly. I hope you can laugh at some of my parenting fails or be game enough to try one of my recipes or DIY projects. Perhaps you would like to visit one of the places I recommend, or just enjoy following what I am doing?

Mum would have.

I am still new to blogging and value your input. If there is something you would like to learn more about or if you have any questions, please leave a comment or write me an email: teawithmum@gmail.com

Three things about me:

I have a very loud cough
…and sound like I’m a chain smoker. I’m not. It’s a TOF cough. A few hours after my birth, I had an operation to fix a tracheoesophageal fistula. The loud cough is a permanent side effect.

I love going to see live music.
All the music at our wedding was by artists (over 200!) that my husband and I had seen live together. I haven’t been to many concerts since Miss M was born, but we are starting to rectify that.

My bucket list does not fit on one page
…even using both sides of the page. This doesn’t even take Mum’s unfinished bucket list into account. I plan to work through some of Mum’s list with Miss M. Perhaps I will write about it here on Tea with Mum.